2014 Run All The Races Year Wrap Up

459

25 runDisney Medals for 2014

2014 was a heck of a year!  We want to thank you all for supporting us by reading our blog and following us on Instagram, Twitter and our Facebook page.  Perfectly Goofy Gail and I ran a total of 31 races/341.78 miles TOGETHER in 2014.  What makes this more impressive, at least to me, is that we live 2,500 miles apart!

June 2014...

June 2014…

So before we finish up our 2014 race recaps (Tower of Terror, Wine & Dine, Avengers and Las Vegas Full among others) and jump to our tips for Running All The runDisney Races of 2015…let’s take a moment to pat ourselves on the back 😉

Did I tell you I placed 2nd in my age group.  Hey - did I tell you I PLACED 2nd IN MY AGE GROUP? Did I, did I?

Did I tell you I placed 2nd in my age group. Hey – did I tell you I PLACED 2nd IN MY AGE GROUP? Did I, did I?

Perfectly Goofy Gail’s Stats for 2014:

  • 14-5k’s
  • 8-10k’s
  • 16-Half Marathons
  • 8-Full Marathons
  • 11-other distances including 1 ultra
  • 2-Age Group Awards
  • 57 races with a total of 707.6 racing miles
Hershey Half - worked hard for a 2:17 finish!

Hershey Half – worked hard for a run/walk/run 2:17 finish!

Kimberly’s Stats for 2014:

  • 17-5k’s
  • 7-10k’s
  • 14-Half Marathons
  • 4-Full Marathons
  • 8-other distances including 1 duathlon
  • 50 races with a total of 485.49 racing miles

 Favorite Race Run Together:

Perfectly Goofy Gail: Walt Disney World Marathon – it was the VERY first race we ran together (in fact we met in person just 4 days earlier at the Race Expo) and the race that launched our friendship. Can’t think of a better reason for it to be my favorite!

Best photo of 2014 Tinker Bell Half Marathon Weekend!

Best photo of 2014 Tinker Bell Half Marathon Weekend!

Kimberly:  Tinker Bell 5K – it was the SECOND race we ran together were I didn’t want to lay down and die!  It was beyond fun because we dressed up and stopped at all the character stops! I just wish we had a photo of us trying to get UP and OFF the stage above!!!

2014 Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10 Miler.  We'd been "dying" to dress as the Haunted Mansion Stretching Room Portraits...

2014 Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10 Miler. We’d been “dying” to dress as the Haunted Mansion Stretching Room Portraits…

Favorite runDisney Costume:

Perfectly Goofy Gail: If I can, I’m going to group the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror Weekend races together. Out Hitchhiking Ghosts and Haunted Mansion Stretching Room Portrait costumes were big hits.  We had just as much fun taking photos with fellow runners and Cast Members as we did running the races ourselves.

2014 Happy Haunted Trail Run

2014 Happy Haunted Trail Run 5K. As much as we tried, no one picked us up on course and drove us to the finish – no matter how much we hitchhiked!

 

Kimberly: I have to choose the Jingle Jungle 5K costumes.  Christmas is my favorite time of year and these costumes were so much fun to wear …unless you were trying to run a 5k 😉

Jingle Jungle 5K

Just looking at these Jingle Jungle 5K costumes makes me want to sing carols loud for everyone to hear!

Favorite Run All the Races RACE Memory of 2014:

Perfectly Goofy Gail: Kimberly was the very first person I ran a race with at Walt Disney World that was willing to ride Expedition Everest with me in the middle of the marathon!

Perfectly Goofy Gail's first time riding Expedition Everest during a race - 2014 Walt Disney  World Marathon!

Perfectly Goofy Gail’s first time riding Expedition Everest during the 2014 Walt Disney World Marathon!

Kimberly: “Getting close to the wildlife” at Ragnar Adirondacks – Ultra.  We haven’t shared the story….yet. 

2014 Rock 'n Roll Las Vegas Full Marathon.  You wouldn't think it, but that hot tea was AWESOME with that BIG beer! So cold...so very, very cold.

2014 Rock ‘n Roll Las Vegas Full Marathon. You wouldn’t think it, but that hot tea was AWESOME with that BIG beer! So cold…so very, very cold.

Favorite Drink All The Drinks of 2014:

Perfectly Goofy Gail: While technically not an “adult beverage” I have to go with the hot tea (with a side of BIG beer) we had after finishing the Rock ‘n Roll Las Vegas Marathon.  We’d completed the Disneyland Avengers Half Marathon that morning in California, hopped a flight to Nevada, and ran the full that evening.  We got wind blown at Disneyland and ran through an arctic blast in Las Vegas.  I just wanted to sit down and GET WARM!

Kimberly: Oompa Loompas of course!!!  Any cocktail served in a pineapple wins!  And although I love Trader Sam’s, I do love a Lapu Lapu at the Tambu Lounge at Disney’s Polynesian Resort.

Lapu Lapu's at the Poly

Lapu Lapu’s at the Poly

 

Favorite Selfie:

Perfectly Goofy Gail: SO MANY to choose from, but our Disneyland Club 33 bathroom fainting couch selfie is my winner.  Talk about a bucket list day!

Disneyland Club 33 bathroom fainting couch.  We're just gonna move in...I'm positive no one will care ;)

Disneyland Club 33 bathroom fainting couch. We’re just gonna move in…I’m positive no one will care 😉

Kimberly: It is a family tradition to take our photo with the Wooden Indian on Main Street U.S.A.  Every race that runs up or down Main Street U.S.A., we stop for an #usie.  Here’s just ONE of many we posed for during 2014. 

One of many #WoodenIndianSelfies of 2014

One of many #WoodenIndianSelfies of 2014

**************************************************************
1511819_10205297488659858_7899833204330694783_oHow was your 2014?  We’d LOVE to hear about your running year in review!

Be sure to follow us on Twitter @RunAllTheRaces and like us on Facebook/runalltheraces.

Perfect Goofy Gail & (soon to be Delightful Dopey) Kimberly

2 thoughts on “2014 Run All The Races Year Wrap Up

  1. That is some serious bling ladies!! Congratulations!!! I can’t even begin to fathom running ALL those races in one year’s time!! Any chance you would like to adopt a full-grown adult “daughter” 🙂

Leave a Reply

