Virtual Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10-Miler Weekend Blog Hop: Race Costuming or You’re going to run…in THAT?!?!

Charlie's Storm Troopers

Charlie’s Storm Troopers

2014 Princess Half Marathon Weekend Enchanted 10K

2014 Princess Half Marathon Weekend Enchanted 10K

Okay, I’ll admit it.  I am a recent covert to running in costume.

THE jump photo to end ALL jump photos - and my VERY FIRST time running in costume.

THE jump photo to end ALL jump photos – and my VERY FIRST time running in costume.

What finally made me make the leap?

Last year’s Disneyland Half Marathon was the race where I earned my 50th runDisney medal and I wanted to mark this running milestone with “something different.”

All my previous runs were focused on time – with no room in my race plan for costumes or photo stops.  This had worked well for me and I enjoyed racing myself and always striving for a PR – BUT – trolling around on Facebook opened my eyes to another kind of fun on the run…COSTUMES!

Most of these AMAZING costumes were made with technical material!

Most of these AMAZING costumes were made with technical material!

From Mild to WILD…

I started out mild – the Mad Hatter for the 2013 Disneyland 10K and a Mouseketeer for the 2013 Disneyland Half Marathon.  My “costumes” consisted of my normal running shorts and sports bra dressed up with simple pre-made add ons.  The Mad Hatter was based around a Raw Threads bamboo technical shirt, an orange tutu, knee socks, and a Mad Hatter headband.

NOTE:  This was also my first – and still most EPIC – jumping photo!

The Mouseketeer included a Sparkle Athletic skirt, technical shirt with my first name, and child’s mouse ears (the child’s ears have an elastic strap which, when placed behind my ponytail, made sure they stayed put for the entire race – so much so, I forgot I even had them on…).

MILD is a great “gateway” to begin running in costume.

Like any gateway, I got HOOKED pretty quickly – AND had a number of friends that not only dressed up as well, but were (and continue to be) excellent enablers 😉

A little costuming peer pressure can go a long way...far enough to get your male friend to run in a skirt during the Princess Half Marathon ;)

A little costuming peer pressure can go a long way…far enough to get your male friend to run in a skirt during the Princess Half Marathon 😉

Tinker Bell Half Marathon Weekend 5K.  Great crochet Tinker Bell hair hat and a tutu so big it had it's own gravitational pull.

Tinker Bell Half Marathon Weekend 5K. Great crochet Tinker Bell hair hat and a tutu so big it had it’s own gravitational pull.

2014 Walt Disneyl World Marathon Weekend Dopey Challenge Day 4...yep - this is exactly how I felt.  Having an easy race costume was a great decision for me for this race.

2014 Walt Disneyl World Marathon Weekend Dopey Challenge Day 4…yep – this is exactly how I felt. Having an easy race costume was a great decision for me for this race.

In the matter of year, I ramped up BIG TIME – culminating in the biggest and craziest costume to date during the the 2014 Disneyland 5K.  Kimberly was getting HER 50th runDisney medal at the Disneyland Half Marathon and we decided to celebrate her running milestone by going BIG.

We planned the Cheshire Cat and Caterpillar from Alice in Wonderland for the Disneyland 5K, Alice in Wonderland Card Soldiers with our running pals Rebecca and Pammy for the Disneyland 10K, and Dumbo and the Circus Master for the Disneyland Half Marathon.

runDisney Tweeted our photo at the Disneyland 5K finish line, interviewed us for the Disneyland 10K race recap video, and we made the office runDisney race album on Facebook for the Disneyland Half Marathon.

runDisney media trifecta - Twitter for Disneyland 5K, race video for Disneyland 10K, and race album on Facebook for Disneyland Half Marathon.  Mission accomplished!

runDisney media trifecta – Twitter for Disneyland 5K, race video for Disneyland 10K, and race album on Facebook for Disneyland Half Marathon. Mission accomplished!

Hunka-hunka burning costumes...

Hunka-hunka burning costumes…

WILD can be AWESOME – as long as you take race length and temperature into consideration.

Tips for a Successful Race Costume:IMG_4198

  • Take the race length and temperature into consideration. [Shorter race and/or cooler temperatures = the chance to ramp up the costume!]
  • If you are traveling, think about the logistics of getting your costume to the race location. [I had to search for smaller hula hoops for my Cheshire Cat so 1 would fit in my suitcase and 1 would fit in the airplane overhead bin :D]
  • Take what race you are running into consideration. [runDisney races brings LOTS of people in costumes.  Some other races – not so much.  Determine your comfort level being dressed up on the run.]
  • IMG_5438Take your completed costume out for a trial run. [Make sure all the parts stay on when you are running and NOTHING rubs you the wrong way]
  • Think outside the box. [Doing a little research about secondary characters can enable you to have a unique costume and stand out among many Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, and Anna and Elsa outfits]
  • Race costumes can be awesome whether they are mild or wild. [Don’t not run in costume just because you don’t want to go huge – subtle can be just as wonderful and memorable as crazy.]
  • Great costumes can be had even if you are not a seamstress. [There are lots of companies that make costume pieces in technical material and cater specifically to runners – including those that do not sew and/or don’t have time to make something themselves]
  • HAVE FUN with it! [If you are going to run in costume, bring some fellow dressed up friends, take photos to commemorate your crazy, and enjoy the run!]

We have some great stuff planned for the Tower of Terror 10-Miler Weekend races!  Keep an eye out for some “happy haunts” as we “stretch” our costuming skills…

Check out the rest of the AMAZING posts that are part of our Virtual Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10-Miler Weekend Blog Hop HERE.

**************************************************************
Dumbo Double Dare - Half MarathonHave you run a race in costume?  We’d LOVE to see your photos!

Be sure to follow us on Twitter @RunAllTheRaces and like us on Facebook/runalltheraces.

Perfect Goofy Gail & (soon to be Delightful Dopey) Kimberly

5 thoughts on “Virtual Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10-Miler Weekend Blog Hop: Race Costuming or You’re going to run…in THAT?!?!

  1. You ahve created some fabulous costumes and congrats on all those medals. Christine and I do modified costumes for races at WDW and DL because we both get hot easily. I wore a tutu just once for the 5k during Dopey Challenge weekend and while it was fun, I probably won’t do that again.

  2. Your costumes are awesome!! I love dressing up in costume but I’m still on the “mild” side of costuming. I did a simple Belle costume for the Enchanted 10k and I’m doing Alice for the 10 miler!

  3. Gail- you have some of the BEST enablers in the runDisney world!! Like you, I was a reluctant costumer. Though I lean towards the runDisneyBounding end of the spectrum, I no longer can imagine preparing for a runDisney event without spending serious time on Pinterest! Thanks SO much for sharing your personal catharsis and FAB photos with our blog hop!!

Leave a Reply

