Race Report: I’d like to thank God, the Academy, my parents, all the fast people for sleeping in…

Did I tell you I placed 2nd in my age group.  Hey - did I tell you I PLACED 2nd IN MY AGE GROUP? Did I, did I?

Did I tell you I placed 2nd in my age group. Hey – did I tell you I PLACED 2nd IN MY AGE GROUP? Did I, did I?

I’d like to thank God, the Academy, my parents, and all the fast people for sleeping in and/or being on vacation – for, without them, there is NO WAY in HELL that I would have placed 2nd in my age group at Monday’s Memorial Day 5K.

Regardless of, or in spite of, there only being 3 people in my age group actually running this race, I’m not one to turn down my very first individual age group award. We won’t tell anyone about the fact that only one other person in my age group finished behind me – right?…RIGHT?!?! Middle of the pack runners unite.

Perfect Goofy Gail blazing into the finish for her 2nd Place Age Group Award. Technically I was huffing and puffing, but details - schmetails!

Perfect Goofy Gail blazing into the finish for her 2nd Place Age Group Award.
Technically I was huffing and puffing, but details – schmetails!

The big sad truth of running in Tucson, AZ is that LOTS of really good runners live and train in this area.

Like OLYMPIC LEVEL good runners.

In fact, this month’s Runner’s World magazine has an entire article dedicated to the up-and-coming runners that train in Arizona.  They have been known to show up and run local races in Tucson and TOTALLY hose up my chances of ever winning an age group award (but, if I’m being honest, the “normal” Tucson runners TOTALLY hose up my chances…).

As the odds of this happening again are slim, I’m going to savor the moment!

BIG TIME!

Heck, I’m going to FRAME my medal and bib and hang it somewhere EVERYONE will see. Maybe on the front door of my house 😉

And you can bet I’m going to be running all the local races that take place on holidays when all the fast runners in Tucson seem to sleep in and go on vacation!

Have you ever won a race and/or an Age Group award?  Tell us about it!

Perfect Goofy Gail

P.S. Did I tell you I placed 2nd in my age group at my latest 5K?..

THE BLING - ohhh the bling! And even better, my friend Maureen placed 3rd in her age group. This is now our FAVORITE RACE EVER!

THE BLING – ohhh the bling!
And even better, my friend Maureen placed 3rd in her age group.
This is now our FAVORITE RACE EVER!

5 thoughts on “Race Report: I’d like to thank God, the Academy, my parents, all the fast people for sleeping in…

  1. This is pure awesomeness!!!! Congratulations!!! And if I were you, I’d totally hang it on my front door 😉

  2. Fantastic, I placed one time- got second out of three as well. I know it was a fluke but I don’t care. That cheese medal is sure hanging on the medal rack.

Leave a Reply

