The Race is Sold Out – Now What? May We Suggest Some Do-Gooding?…

Kimberly's Team's singlet running for those who cannot

Kimberly’s Team’s singlet running for those who cannot

First of all – DON’T PANIC!!!

There is another legal (and awesome) way to secure your race bib.

Head on over to the official race website and go to their Charity Group page.  Here you will be able to view the official charity organizations who are approved and work directly with the marathon to provide entries.  Then you would contact the organization to find the fundraising minimum, entry fees, etc.

We suggest taking the time to find a charity that is near and dear to your heart. Having a connection to the organization you are raising funds for goes a long way to showing those that donate on your behalf that you believe in the cause and are excited to run for that group.

There are lots of great charity organizations out there that sponsor runners. For instance – runDisney has the following charities listed for Walt Disney World Marathon weekend:

Take the time to research potential charities, such as the 18 Charity Groups listed above, and then select the cause that is near and dear to you.

Representing Team during the 2009 WDW Marathon

Representing Team during the 2009 WDW Marathon

Our Experience with Team In Training:

The charity with the largest presence during Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend is the The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Team in Training.  AKA – the guys in purple!!  Both Perfectly Goofy Gail and Kimberly have fundraised and raced on behalf of Team in Training and here are their experiences:

Perfectly Goofy Gail’s Experience: 

I completed my first runDisney event, the 2005 Walt Disney World Triathlon, with Team in Training.  I CANNOT say enough good things about Team in Training.  They are the real reason I love running and runDisney.

I selected Team in Training as I know multiple people who have been impacted by blood cancers and this was my opportunity to give back to those that had given friendship to me.

Rebecca and Perfect Goofy Gail during the 2005 Walt Disney World Triathlon - swimming, biking, and running with Team in Training.

Rebecca and Perfect Goofy Gail during the 2005 Walt Disney World Triathlon – swimming, biking, and running with Team in Training.

I was a Central Florida local for my initial Team in Training event, so my fundraising minimum was a bit lower as airfare did not need to be taken into consideration.

The training and fundraising support was phenomenal with this organization.  We held group garage sales, and even held a treadmill 24-hour run at a local Wal-Mart.  Our team ensured that everyone made their fundraising goal so we could finish the race together.  This was really important, as I’m a bit shy about reaching out to others and asking for donations.

Perfect Goofy Gail, Melissa, and Kimberly.  Melissa was part of Perfect Goofy Gail's original 2005 Team in Training group.  Here she's volunteering for the 2014 Princess Half Marathon.

Perfect Goofy Gail, Melissa, and Kimberly. Melissa was part of Perfect Goofy Gail’s original 2005 Team in Training group. Here she’s volunteering for the 2014 Princess Half Marathon. Thanks Melissa – your water was the coldest and the bestest!

During race weekend, we all stayed together at the same hotel (Disney’s Contemporary Resort) and attended a Team in Training banquet the night before the race with teams from all over the country – talk about inspiring!

To this day, members of my original 2005 Team in Training group join me for runDisney events, both as runners and volunteers on the course.  “Go TEAM!.”

Kimberly’s Experience: 

In 2008, I was already registered for the 2009 Walt Disney World Marathon, but heard about Team in Training and decided to attend a local meeting.  I was interested in fundraising because I figured I might as well help others while training for this monumental event in my life.  Team and Training had me commit to my fundraising minimum and secured this commitment with my credit card.  They then gave me the tools to set up a fundraising webpage, email templates and I was on my way to asking everyone I knew to pledge money to my cause!

Team in Training also provided Saturday morning local group coaching.  Here I would meet and run my long runs with other runners who shared the same goal of running their first marathon at Walt Disney World.  Team in Training also provided training schedules, route cards and on course support during these long training runs.

My favorite part of training with Team in Training was the support they provided on course at the goal race – Walt Disney World Marathon.  Even though I was from Connecticut, I was wearing a purple singlet so I was part of their Team.  It didn’t matter if they were from Texas or California, I was one of them!  The support I received on course was outstanding.  Team in Training coaches were all over the marathon course and would run along side, checking on your progress, state of mind and were there to get you anything you needed.  But most important they were there to coach you through the journey to your goal of finishing.  I was feeling pretty low at some points during that marathon and Team in Training pulled me through and helped me succeed.  I cannot put into words how much Team means to me – even after running 6 WDW Marathons, when I’m on course and I see purple I yell “go Team!”

It's all worth it in the end and you helped others

It’s all worth it in the end and you helped others

Do Good – Feel Good

We at RunAllTheRaces encourage each of you, at some point in your running career, to run to do good for others.  The good feeling you get is worth the fundraising efforts and the friends can last a lifetime.

Have you run a race for a charity?  Tell us about your experiences.

We hope you continue to #RunAllTheRaces with us!

Follow us on Twitter @RunAllTheRaces and Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/runalltheraces

Perfect Goofy Gail & (soon to be Delightful Dopey) Kimberly

3 thoughts on “The Race is Sold Out – Now What? May We Suggest Some Do-Gooding?…

  1. Whoo-hoo! Catch a Lift fundraising here for Goofy. I love being able to raise money for a good cause and enjoy a good run. I’m really excited.

Leave a Reply

